Steven Herrick Poet Visit

On Tuesday March 9, Carey was visited by Steven Herrick, poet and author.

His poems are aimed at children and can be quite funny.

Pookie Aleera Is Not My Boyfriend | UQPZoe, Max and the Bicycle Bus - Steven Herrick

Steven Herrick has published twenty-four books for adults, young adults and children. He is widely regarded as a pioneer of verse-novels for children and young adults.

His books have won the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards in 2000 and 2005 and have been on the Children’s Book Council of Australia “Children’s Book of the Year Awards” shortlist multiple times, including

1997 – “Love, Ghosts and Nose Hair”

1999 – “A Place like This”

2001 – “The Simple Gift”

2003 – “Tom Jones Saves the World”

2013 – “Pookie Aleera is not my boyfriend”

2015 – “Bleakboy and Hunter Stand out in the Rain”

2019 – “The Bogan Mondrian”

and have been recognised as an Honour Book in 2004 – “Do-wrong Ron” and 2005 – “By the River”.

This week, we are all going to learn a poem and present it to the class. You could look for one on this site:

Poetry Foundation

These are Mrs Douglas’ favourite poems. They are by A.A Milne, who wrote Winnie the Pooh.

Forgiven

I found a little beetle; so that Beetle was his name,
And I called him Alexander and he answered just the same.
I put him in a match-box, and I kept him all the day …
And Nanny let my beetle out –
Yes, Nanny let my beetle out –
She went and let my beetle out –
And Beetle ran away.

She said she didn’t mean it, and I never said she did,
She said she wanted matches and she just took off the lid,
She said that she was sorry, but it’s difficult to catch
An excited sort of beetle you’ve mistaken for a match.

She said that she was sorry, and I really mustn’t mind,
As there’s lots and lots of beetles which she’s certain we could find,
If we looked about the garden for the holes where beetles hid –
And we’d get another match-box and write BEETLE on the lid.

We went to all the places which a beetle might be near,
And we made the sort of noises which a beetle likes to hear,
And I saw a kind of something, and I gave a sort of shout:
“A beetle-house and Alexander Beetle coming out!”

It was Alexander Beetle I’m as certain as can be,
And he had a sort of look as if he thought it must be Me,
And he had a sort of look as if he thought he ought to say:
“I’m very very sorry that I tried to run away.”

And Nanny’s very sorry too for you-know-what-she-did,
And she’s writing ALEXANDER very blackly on the lid,
So Nan and Me are friends, because it’s difficult to catch
An excited Alexander you’ve mistaken for a match.

Us Two

Wherever I am, there’s always Pooh,
There’s always Pooh and Me.
Whatever I do, he wants to do,
“Where are you going today?” says Pooh:
“Well, that’s very odd ‘cos I was too.
Let’s go together,” says Pooh, says he.
“Let’s go together,” says Pooh.“What’s twice eleven?” I said to Pooh.
(“Twice what?” said Pooh to Me.)
“I think it ought to be twenty-two.”
“Just what I think myself,” said Pooh.
“It wasn’t an easy sum to do,
But that’s what it is,” said Pooh, said he.
“That’s what it is,” said Pooh.“Let’s look for dragons,” I said to Pooh.
“Yes, let’s,” said Pooh to Me.
We crossed the river and found a few-
“Yes, those are dragons all right,” said Pooh.
“As soon as I saw their beaks I knew.
That’s what they are,” said Pooh, said he.
“That’s what they are,” said Pooh.“Let’s frighten the dragons,” I said to Pooh.
“That’s right,” said Pooh to Me.
“I’m not afraid,” I said to Pooh,
And I held his paw and I shouted “Shoo!
Silly old dragons!”- and off they flew.

“I wasn’t afraid,” said Pooh, said he,
“I’m never afraid with you.”

So wherever I am, there’s always Pooh,
There’s always Pooh and Me.
“What would I do?” I said to Pooh,
“If it wasn’t for you,” and Pooh said: “True,
It isn’t much fun for One, but Two,
Can stick together, says Pooh, says he. “That’s how it is,” says Pooh.

Do you have a favourite poem? Or two? Can you find one and put it in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “Steven Herrick Poet Visit

  1. Hello everybody, I like how in this post, you added lots of detailed poems that are entertaining and fun to read. My favorite poem is this: Spades take up leaves
    No better than spoons,
    And bags full of leaves
    Are light as balloons.

    I make a great noise
    Of rustling all day
    Like rabbit and deer
    Running away.

    But the mountains I raise
    Elude my embrace,
    Flowing over my arms
    And into my face.

    I may load and unload
    Again and again
    Till I fill the whole shed,
    And what have I then?

    Next to nothing for weight,
    And since they grew duller
    From contact with earth,
    Next to nothing for color.

    Next to nothing for use,
    But a crop is a crop,
    And who’s to say where
    The harvest shall stop?

    Do you like the poem? Because i really like it.
    I can see that you like poems, I also like to read certain poems.
    Hopefully you liked the poem, I wish you a nice day. (:

    • Hi Lewis,

      Thanks for your comment on our class Blog. I really like to poem you chose.As you know, I love poetry and I think it is a great way to express yourself. I wonder if this is the poem you will present to the class?

      From Mrs D

  2. Hi everybody,
    I hope you like my poem.

    My Dog Ate My Essay
    My doggy ate my essay.
    He picked up all my mail.
    He cleaned my dirty closet
    and dusted with his tail.

    He straightened out my posters
    and swept my wooden floor.
    My parents almost fainted
    when he fixed my bedroom door.

    I did not try to stop him.
    He made my windows shine.
    My room looked like a palace,
    and my dresser smelled like pine.

    He fluffed up every pillow.
    He folded all my clothes.
    He even cleaned my fish tank
    with a toothbrush and a hose.

    I thought it was amazing
    to see him use a broom.
    I’m glad he ate my essay
    on “How to Clean My Room.”

    • Hi Lewis,

      That was an awesome poem. I absolutely loved it. I have also posted a poem. Let me know what you think of it. I utterly liked the visit by Steven Herrick because I found his poems to be hilarious. Do you have any other poems that you like?

      Kind Regards

  3. Hi 4DS, I like Funny poems but my favourite poem is The Silliest Teacher In School.

    Our teacher gave detention to the fountains in the hall.Sdhe handed extra homework to the artwork on the wall.We saw her point a finger to a banner and a sign.

  4. Hi,
    I loved the two poems that was on the post. This is my favourite poem.

    Our teacher gave detention to the fountains in the halls she handed extra home work to the art work on the walls.

    We saw her point a finger at a banner and a sign she said their bad behaviour was completely out of line.

    The principle approached her and asked her what is all this fuss? I heard you try to punish the tires on the bus.

    You made the teachers angry by disrupting all the classes. If you want to keep this job you have to wear your glasses.

    Bye

    Bella

  5. I’d like to think I always knew
    That we were fish and chips
    In truth my world first fell askew
    Like French Fries, from my fingertips

    That first red stormy football night
    You offered me your chicken wing
    In one fell slice of julienned fate
    My singularities began to sing

    I did not know, that we would grow
    Peeling back every last flaw
    I cannot still make sense of how
    (Two otherwise completely rebellions soles)
    Simply surrendered to Cole’s law

    Could our lives be any more mashed?
    We’re like steak and potatoes rehashed
    Beer and whiskey no, beer and more beer,
    We own perfection, unabashed

    It was as simple as following your nose
    We’ll keep dancing, with me on your toes
    I may blanch a bit with time but I promise a thousand years of POTATOES!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *